All my bags are packed…

I’m usually a pretty light packer. When we honeymooned in Hawaii for two weeks Jeff and I managed to bring everything we needed in a couple carry ons. It’s so much easier to get out of the airport when you don’t have to wait for the luggage to follow you off the plane, not to mention the peace of mind knowing your luggage is always with you and won’t get lost along the way.

Unfortunately, for this trip I’ll have to check one of my bags. It’s a camping trip and I have to bring a sleeping bag and they won’t let me carry that on. The second packing issue I’ve come across is the size restrictions. I can have one small daypack and one bag that is 60cm x 30cm x 30cm and the sleeping bag needs to fit inside that, as well as all my shit. Not awesome, even for a light packer.

20120113-125328.jpg

Over the last couple months I’ve been semi-packing. Every time I come across something to bring I throw it in my luggage. Then came the time to be realistic and realize there is no possible way to fit everything I want to bring. Bummer. Both Gap and Intrepid had some pretty solid packing checklists so I used those as a guide, as well as this awesome article by Solo Traveler, and organized/edited all my belongings. A month is a pretty long time to be away and here is what I’m bringing with me…

Clothing
Fleece jacket
Waterproof jacket
Work gloves
Swimwear
Beach coverup
4 shirts/t-shirts, cool and breathable
Long-sleeved shirt or sweater for evenings
2 pairs of long trousers/capris
1 pair hiking pants/track pants (convertable)
Comfortable shoes
Socks
Underwear
Bra
Sandals
Hat
Sunglasses

Night
Sleeping bag
Dry sack
Pillow
Sheet set
Ear plugs
Sleep mask
Toque
Yoga pants/sleep shirt

Accessories
Water bottle
Pocketknife/multitool
Empty bags (for garbage)
Whistle
Padlocks
Digital watch
Small Sharpie
Deck of cards
Clothesline for laundry

Toiletries (biodegradable)
Hand sanitizer gel
Soap (multipurpose – detergent, soap)
Toilet paper
Sunblock
Deodorant
Shampoo+Conditioner
Toothbrush+Toothpaste
Towel
Facial Cleanser
Comb
Mirror
Tweezers+Clippers
Safety Pins
Razor
Baby wipes (unscented)
First-aid kit (Lip balm with sunscreen, Aspirin , Malaria pills, bandaids/plasters, tape, muscle relaxant, Pepto , insect repellent, Dramamine/Gravol)

Electronics
Cameras (DSLR + point and shoot) and memory cards (+ power cable)
Extra batteries
Electricity Plug Adapter
Battery powered alarm clock
Headlamp (with extra batteries)
Pocket calculator
iPad (+ power cable)
USB to uground
Earbuds
Air blower/camera cleaner

Documents
Passport (with photocopies)
Travel insurance (with photocopies)
Yellow fever certificate (with photocopies)
Airline tickets (with photocopies)
USD cash
Credit/debit card (with photocopies)
Trip vouchers, pre-departure information and dossier
Hotel confirmation email

All of it has been crammed inside those 2 small bags. I think I should get a gold star for that.

One thought on “All my bags are packed…

  1. Jane says:

    This is inspiring! I am going to South America for 3 months in their winter and I don’t want to overpack as usual but it is a long time and I will be going from one extreme to another weather wise so it may be tricky. I also know that no matter how long I am away on any trip I always bring clothes home that have not been worn.
    I think you deserve a gold star too!
    Jane

TALK TO ME

