Day 17 – Tents are Not Soundproof Structures

February 5, 2012
Nairobi
Kivi Milimani Hotel

Funny thing about sleeping in a tent, other than protection from the elements, it is almost exactly the same as sleeping outside. And when you’re outside there is nothing to stop the sounds escaping your lips from entering someone else’s ears.

I haven’t officially met my tent neighbours yet, but I feel like I know so much about them because they are loud and don’t shut up. Not only have I been privvy to their more ‘intimate moments’ but I’ve also learnt so much about them as individuals. For example, she’s 30 and he’s the son of an Indian immigrant. They’re both cheating on their significant others, but it’s ok because they deserve to be happy. He loves her because she’s fun and spontaneous, she loves him because he has money. I mean, because he’s fun and spontaneous too. And on and on it goes.

Last night they came back to camp around 330am and proceeded to knock stuff over, rehash their entire night, get into a fight, then have really awkward sex. So I got up at 655am, set my alarm for 7am and went for breakfast. When I got back at 8am my alarm was still going off. And that is how I solve problems.

I checked out of Wildebeest and headed to the Kivi Milimani Hotel, the starting place for the Intrepid part of the tour. The hotel is ok, nice pool but the rooms could use some updating. We had a welcome meeting at 6pm today and there are 14 on this trip, 6 of them traveled together on the last leg of the trip and 8 new people (including myself). There are 2 couples and the rest of us are solo.

All of us new people went out for Ethiopian so we could get to know each other better. We piled into a couple taxis and set out. I’ve heard so much about Nairobi being unsafe (being dubbed ‘Nairobbery’ by Lonely Planet) but each time I’ve left my hotels I’ve never felt concerned for my safety. I mean, you still have to be aware, but there’s nothing to freak out about. I was told about a woman in a cab who kept her purse on the seat beside her and at a stoplight someone reached through the window, snatched her purse and took off. It seems like everyone has a story about a friend of a friend, but I now keep my purse firmly attached to me or on the floor of the cab.

Tonight was my first time having Ethiopian and we let the server order for us. We got some huge platters of food that I know had chicken, beef, goat, spinach, etc…we didn’t know what was exactly what but it was all delicious. It was a great chance for all of us to get to know each other and after dinner we headed right back to the hotel. Some people went to the bar, but I’ve gotten so used to going to bed early so I just headed to the room, showered and went right to sleep.

Breakfast: toast with pb&j, fruit salad, tea
Lunch: spring rolls
Dinner: Ethiopian dinner

TALK TO ME

